top of page

Voices of Mothers

On Sunday, the Church celebrated the feast of St Monica, the mother of St Augustine. He grew up in religious family but rebelled against everything he was taught and lived the early part of his life with his back to God. All the while, his mother Monica continued to pray for him – eventually Augustine’s heart turned towards God and he became one of the most influential theologians in the Church.

​My Year 11 Marist Youth Ministry led the following prayer from Rachel Anne Ridge and were joined by five mums who prayed over the PA system to the whole school...

We are truly grateful for all the mothers who care for us no matter what.

Lord, I’m praying for my boy today. Thank You for giving him to me, and for the privilege of being his parent. I’ve got some things on my heart, and I’m bringing these requests to You now.

Please keep him safe. Protect him from physical danger and emotional harm, put Your angels around him so that he is always sheltered in Your care. Guard his mind, his eyes, and his steps.

Help him make wise choices. Give him courage to choose paths that will lead to long life, to joy, and to Your purposes for him. Give him eyes to see consequences to his actions–well ahead of time–so he can avoid temptation and pursue what is good.

May he be a man of character. Help him to be honest, kind, generous, and unselfish. May he be trustworthy and resilient, be willing to work hard, and ready to take responsibility for his decisions. Give him the ability to see the best in people and circumstances, and to find strength in the face of adversity.

Surround him with good people. Provide friends who encourage him, understand him, and have a positive influence on him. Help him to walk away from relationships that tear down his self-worth, or cause him to make poor choices. Give him mentors; people he can trust, those he can emulate. He needs godly role models, and I ask

You to provide them for him.

Give my son a heart for You. I know that he will make mistakes and that he will have struggles. This is part of life, and part of what will prepare him for adulthood. May he learn to love You in the Quiet, and seek Your peace in the midst of a noisy world. Help him to see You in the everyday moments of his life.

I commit this young man to You. There is so much I can’t control now that he is this age, but I know I can always come to You with my requests, and I can relinquish my worries to You. I stand on Your promise that You will complete the good work that You have started in my son, and You will always love this beautiful gift You’ve given me, even more than I could ever do.

http://www.homesanctuary.com/rachelanne/prayers-for-your-teenyoung-adult-kids.html

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page